WE CARRY OUR HOMES WITH US – A CUBAN AMERICAN MEMOIR

I would like to share a blog post from my author website this morning. This beautiful and heartbreaking account of exile from Cuba should be mandatory reading for everyone, regardless of age, ethnicity, citizenship, and political persuasion. In particular, anyone who wants to hold the highest elected office in the United States should read this to understand more about what it means to be in exile from a homeland because of political reasons.

P.C. Zick - Author/Editor

IMG_0629I am so proud of my friend and colleague, Marisella Veiga, on the publication of  We Carry Our Homes with Us – A Cuban American Memoir. Yes, I do have a personal relationship with the author so perhaps my comments might be viewed as slanted. However, I can tell you her book is honest, raw, and triumphant. As someone who lived in the same town until I went away to college–thirty miles away–this book astounded me as I attempted to understand what it must have been like to move as much as the Veiga family did during Marisella’s formative years. Not only did they move, but they were ripped from their home only to become exiles in a foreign land where very few understood what it meant to be Cuban.

I’ve known Marisella for more than a decade, but I discovered I really didn’t know her heart and soul…

View original post 843 more words

Leave a Reply

