A WRITING RETREAT

Office at CabinIt began three weeks ago, this self-imposed writer’s retreat for one. It’s something I’ve dreamed about for years. Time alone, during which I would write and create astounding stories.

Alas, when the time came for me to be alone in the mountains, other things crowded my plate. Editing jobs for others, marketing of my books, and organizing the new home. Writing once again took the shortest piece of the straw. But I organized the new office, and I’m comfortable.

Then this week, when I realized my time for the writer’s retreat could be counted in days and not weeks, I developed a schedule and managed to write 6,000 words on a new manuscript, but it wasn’t anywhere near the goal I’d set. Then I got sick. Momentum gone.

I’m down to my final four days of my alone time, and I need to push forward. My mind doesn’t sit down for the tasks I need want to complete. So here it is, one-thirty in the morning, and I can’t sleep. So I laid down 1,000 words. I have no idea if they are words worthy of the new book. But they are words–imagines and thoughts of my characters–jumbled out of my head onto the computer screen.

ColorCabinWhat I want to do requires more stamina than I find I have right now. Instead, I want to stare at the trees on the mountainside turning first yellow, then scarlet, and then the softer muted tones of red and orange. It’s been quite a show. Those moments of silence staring at the landscape or gazing at the stars in a sky not clouded with city lights bring peace.

Six novels await creation. Perhaps they can wait just a little longer.

I still have four days with an organized office, editing jobs completed for now, and rain on its way, keeping me inside. The long-anticipated writer’s retreat shall begin, unless the rain stops and more leaves turn red or yellow.

Happy Halloween, autumn, and October. And be forewarned, when dreams turn to reality, something else just might occur instead.???????????????

5 thoughts on “A WRITING RETREAT

  1. Pingback: A WRITING RETREAT | oshriradhekrishnabole

  2. Dear Writer-on-Retreat –
    I find whenever I look ahead to a space in the coming future with lots of opportunities to create good work, I’m setting myself up for accomplishing – nada!! It’s so good for me to read a “real writer” such as yourself (and that, you are!!) describe something similar happening with their own plans for productivity. You have inspired me to feel better about the ever-present struggle. It’s just life, I guess, and all must deal with it. And I would hasten to add, that it sounds like you’re not as far off track as you may feel yourself to be. You’re making progress – 6,000 words is WAY more than no words. Keep at it – as I know you will !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I don’t believe in writer’s block, but I sure get procrastinator’s blues at times! I find making deadlines works for me, so I wrote in my writing scheduler that before I had to leave the cabin I would have 10,000 words written on Misty Mountain. I made it to 10,245 without much difficulty once I got going. Now to finish. It’s the same reason I signed up of NaNo again this year – said I wouldn’t but decided I needed the prod.

      Like

Leave a Reply

