BOOK REVIEW FRIDAY – CROSSING TO SAFETY BY WALLACE STEGNER

Wallace Stegner left us with books that are relevant and thoughtful. Perfect addition to all the Earth Day celebrations this week and beyond.

P.C. Zick - Author/Editor

Crossing to Safety

“In fiction, I think we should have no agenda but to tell the truth.” – Wallace Stegner

Thank you to my friend and colleague Christina Carson for pointing me to the literary genius of Wallace Stegner, both author and environmentalist.

He’s known for his dedication in writing about the preservation of the West of the United States, but my introduction to him came from reading his novel, Crossing to Safety. I’ve already ordered his Pulitzer Prize winning novel, Angle of Repose because I’m enamored of this gentle man’s prose and honesty in the telling of a compelling story. Isn’t that the standard to which all authors should aspire? I know it’s what I wish for myself.

From the very beginning, he drew me into his story as the narrator, Larry, and his wife, Sally awaken in a cabin in the woods of Vermont in 1972. There’s to be a meeting…

View original post 608 more words

4 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW FRIDAY – CROSSING TO SAFETY BY WALLACE STEGNER

  1. It’s such good fun to share a treasured book with a friend and have them enjoy it too. Thanks, Pat, for pursuing it and letting us share this moment.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

