Crabs and Writing

DSC02602 By Patricia Zick @PCZick

I’ve been on a bit of a hiatus from writing regular blog posts. I suppose I could blame it on summer. Having more daylight hours means having more things to do, such as gardening, boating/kayaking, and golfing.

The garden isn’t doing much these days because the added rainfall has made things a bit too soggy for our tomatoes. I haven’t canned one single sauce yet this summer. But I have been out on the water relaxing and thinking up all sorts of topics for my blog. I have so many topics written down on a pad of paper that I don’t know where to begin.

So I’ll write about Maryland crabs. We recently went to the Maryland coast and visited the Red Roost restaurant near Assateague Island. The place is an old converted chicken farm, which lends itself well to the casual atmosphere inside.DSC02600

My husband and I had never experienced eating Maryland crabs, but our waitress was pleased to help us. It’s not unlike lobster, except it’s a lot more work.

We ordered the bucket which came with scallops, shrimp, clams, and corn. And six crabs, which we thought was plenty for us newbies.

Our bucket came with ten crabs instead. We set to work becoming experts after the first one. The meat is sweet, but in small bites. It might make for a good diet because you are forced to eat very slow.

We enjoyed ourselves immensely as we experienced something together for the first time. But we both agreed we’d had our fill of Maryland crabs for a very long time.

???????????????????????????????What have you been doing this summer? Anything exotic (I know it’s hard to beat eating crabs in an old chicken house, but I bet you can!)?

2 thoughts on “Crabs and Writing

Leave a Reply

