I’m on hiatus right now while I recover from a virus. This is an interesting post from one of my favorite bloggers. Enjoy.

For Your Good Health

Although they’re spelled and pronounced similarly, Chayote and Coyote are two different animals. In fact, Chayote is a fruit! You already know what a Coyote looks like

and that is why I’m posting Chayote as the new food for New Food Friday.

Chayote, pronounced Cha-i-O-tee, is a fruit that is used like a vegetable.  It is originally native to Mexico or Central America.ChayoteIt is a very pretty pale green and the easiest produce I have ever peeled, fruit or vegetable! My paring knife just glides and therefore it is a pleasure to prepare.

As far as texture, it is like a cucumber or pickle: juicy and crunchy. But it doesn’t taste like a cucumber or pickle. It’s one of those fruits that has a taste that is hard to describe. It’s a pleasant taste, and mild flavored. I thought I detected a slightly peppery aftertaste on my first…

View original post 418 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. We saw, and ate, a lot of chayote when we lived in Costa Rica, and I must admit they are not my favorite. They need something else with them to spark up the taste. The best I had was a piccadillo with corn and seasonings to give it some pizzazz. The strangest was finding it in dishes in Chinese restaurants.

    Like

Leave a Reply

