Home on the Range

Bull elk taking care of business

By Patricia Zick @PCZick

I began my writing life as a reporter for a small town weekly newspaper. It was a great place to start because the job required I learn to do everything, including taking my own photos. I just wanted to write, but as we’ve become a society in love with the visual, photographs are an essential for many forms of expression, including a blog.

I’ve been posting about my trip to Denver last month. I was only there for a few days, but the trip gave me a wealth of stories and photos. Our trip happened to coincide with the fall rut for elks. The bulls congregate with cows and calves in September and early October. They leave in the montane ecosystem which consists of ponderosa pines and mountain meadows.
I hope you enjoy a few of my photos as much as I enjoyed capturing them.

3 thoughts on “Home on the Range

  1. Absolutely stunning pictures! Brought back all kinds of memories. I remember when I first got to F.E. Warren AFB in Cheyenne, WY, I was out walking the track in winter and there were a few elk hunkered down and covered by the snow. I completely freaked out and ran over to a military cop car on patrol, huffing and puffing to exclaim there were wolves in the middle of the track and someone was going to get hurt. I remember they smiled and told me they’d take care of it. I was so afraid, I ran all the way to my dorm room. It took months before I realized the elk liked to huddle there. I’m sure the cops had quite a laugh once I’d run away. What a moron I was! LOL!

    Like

    • Thanks for making me smile today, Jennifer. Just think they may still be telling this story and laughing while they do. Nothing moron-ish about that! Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      • So true! (How embarrasing!!) LOL. I’d never been exposed to them or even seen them before. Glad you got a laugh. I’m sure those cops did too!!🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

