Garden Art

peppers as art

By Patricia Zick @PCZick

Vegetables are works of art as well as sustenance. Last year, we had an abundance of cayenne peppers so I decided they would become a decoration in the kitchen. I strung them up and hung them in front of a cupboard with some of my favorites dishes. When I need a little zest while cooking, I pull off one of the dried beauties and my artful creation becomes a part of our dinner.

decorating and cooking with cayenne

We had some small pumpkins crop up earlier in the summer – we’re not sure where they came from, but they’re too small to eat. In contrast, while we were on vacation some of our yellow squash turned into yellow bats. I turned both into a centerpiece.

garden centerpieces

My husband doesn’t like to be outdone in the decorating department. Since he does grow all the vegetables, I guess he needs an outlet for his artistic abilities. It’s just not the way I would do it.

vegetable decorating by Robert

4 thoughts on “Garden Art

Leave a Reply

