Writing & Gardening – No Time to Blog

By Patricia Zick @P.C. Zick

I’ve had to let my blog go the past week or so. I’ve reblogged some of my favorite blogs on topics near to my heart, but I haven’t been able to find the time or inspiration to concentrate long enough to put out a thoughtful post.

I’m juggling three projects right now so that’s my excuse. I keep thinking I’ll find a way to put one of them aside. I’m impressed with my colleagues who manage a daily blog and still manage to write books. I’m lucky if I can produce a blog two times a week.

When I published Live from the Road on Kindle, I didn’t realize the amount of promoting I’d need to do to sell the book. Nearly 20,000 folks have now downloaded it. Ninety-seven percent of those downloads were done on free promotional days, which are now over. Next week,  a media blitz will hopefully  draw more folks to actually download it on Kindle for $2.99 or buy the print edition at $7.90 on amazon. I’ve told myself that’s it. I’ve done all I can do at this point. Live from the Road has been sent out into the world. I must move onto my other projects.

I wrote the novel Tortoise Stew ten years ago. It was published with a publisher – whose name I refuse to promote – in 2006. I decided it was time to edit the book and put it out on Kindle as well. That’s occupied half of my time for the past ten days. I hope to have it up on amazon early next week, in time for Live‘s media blitz. All the experts keep hammering the point that indie authors, such as myself, need to have more than one book out. I’ve enjoyed reading Tortoise Stew once again and revisiting the chaos of Florida politics and development and land grab at any cost. The same artist (Travis Pennington) who designed Live‘s cover is currently redesigning the cover for Tortoise Stew – I should have it in a few days.

Finally, I’m working on the second draft of my new novel Trails in the Sand. It’s going well, but I’ve decided to change point of view from one person (first person) to three people plus short narrative chapters on the environmental issues at play in the background.

I find working on the two novels at the same time helpful, which surprises me. I’m pleased the messages in Tortoise Stew are the same ones I believe today and try to incorporate in everything I write. I love the love story in Tortoise Stew. I wrote it imagining the ideal love relationship I yearned for at the time. Guess what? A decade later I’ve found that with my new husband, Robert. It’s uncanny when I read scenes I wrote ten years ago and realize they are now reality.

When I’m not absorbed in my writing world, I tend the produce from our garden. Every night we’re eating mostly fresh vegetables. Last night we had cauliflower and beets. The tomatoes are piling up on the windowsill so next weekend I’m sure I’ll be canning sauce and dreaming  up scenes for Trails in the Sand, while Live from the Road and Tortoise Stew sell themselves on the Internet. Why not? I’ve turned my dreams into reality before.

8 thoughts on “Writing & Gardening – No Time to Blog

  1. I love the name of your blog (and all the good stuff on it). I expect it’s a quote from something I should know🙂. Saw ex poet laureate of the US Kay Ryan read the other day and she talked about the importance of lightness. I have been thinking about that ever since. Cathy xxx

    Like

  2. I can totally relate to being so absorbed with gardening! I often say that I could work in my garden all day, for hours and hours and forget to eat! I also know what you mean about eating your own fresh produce. Amazing and delicious! Nice post.🙂

    Like

    • I’ve been trying to get a post done since Sunday, but it hasn’t happened. Right now it’s just notes on a piece of paper and a bit of research. I haven’t even downloaded the photos yet, but hopefully I will by the end of the day. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  3. Wow P.C. Zick! You’re writing actual books and getting lovely food out of your garden. The blog can wait. You have work to do! You must give yourself a little slack. You are amazing.

    Like

  4. What a wonderful post! I am excited to follow this blog and all your adventures in writing and life (and tomato canning!). I too have found the Love of my Life at long last (well, and right on time of course) so I especially appreciate your delightful photo of yourself and your hubby. Blessings, Gina

    Like

Leave a Reply

