Zucchini Relish

By P.C. Zick @PCZick

Anyone who gardens even a little bit knows the truth about zucchini. Once it starts putting off those beautiful blossoms, you need to be ready to do something with the bounty. We grill it, saute it with onions, shred it for bread, and thanks to a recipe I found two years ago in the Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving, I make relish with it.

We use the relish for more than putting in potato and tuna salads. It makes a wonderful marinade for seafood. The day after I put up the jars of relish this year, I put it on top of a tuna steak in aluminum foil and put on the grill for 20 minutes. Perfection. Here’s my recipe adapted from Ball. If you’re not familiar with canning, here’s a good source to begin on the Ball Canning site.

 

This recipe makes approximately 6 pint jars.

Zucchini Relish ala Zick

6 large zucchini (I mix it up with yellow squash if I have it)

3 medium onions

1 red pepper

1 green pepper

1 yellow pepper

4 cloves of garlic

3 crushed cayennes

4 TBSP salt

2 cups of cider vinegar

2 cups sugar

4 tsp celery salt

2 tsp mustard seed

Chop all the vegetables – I do it in my food processor. Place in a large bowl and sprinkle salt on top. Cover with water and let sit for two hours.

Bring the rest of the ingredients to a boil at the end. Drain, rinse, drain vegetables and add to the boiling liquid. Simmer 10 minutes. Place in hot, sterilized canning jars.

Process in boiling water bath for 10 minutes (I live at 1,000 ft. altitude so I always add another five minutes to processing time.)

12 thoughts on “Zucchini Relish

    • I hope you do – let me know the results. I’m drowning in squash right now so if you have any other suggestions, please let me know. I just sauteed two large zucchinis and three medium yellow squash with 5 onions, garlic and herbs. When they cool, I’ll pack them in freezer bags. They make wonderful soup starters in the winter. But I still have five squash on the counter! Two I can use in a casserole tonight, but then I start building for more relish.

      Like

      • Living in Northern Canada we are lucky if we get squash…zucchini is a little easier cause it needs a shorter growing season…we all run outside as soon as we can, plant, and pray for a long enough season🙂

        Like

  1. Ah, summer bounty. Sounds great! Don’t forget to use some of it fresh, though. Fritters, bread, cake, saute, parmesan, stuffed, grilled, tossed in pasta… even the blossoms are tasty!

    Like

    • Haven’t ever tried the blossoms, but we do. I love it grilled especially. I also have a great casserole I’ll make for dinner tonight with Swiss cheese and yogurt. Thanks for the suggestions.

      Like

  2. That sounds really good. I chopped one up last night and sauteed in butter, garlic and a bunch of spices, but haven’t cut up the second zucchini. I might have to try this later this summer.

    Like

    • Absolutely true. There’s plenty of recipes for it, too. And thanks for the compliment about my age and photo. I feel like I’m still in my twenties most of the time so it’s almost shocking when I admit my age in real years.

      Like

      • 50 is the new 30 so you are not even 40 yet!! Funny you mentioned the word “shocking” when describing your age. I feel the same way. I often think to myself: there is got to be a mistake I cannot be this age! lol

        Like

  3. We also have an abundance of zucchini and yellow squash. Last night we made a concoction of chopped(chunks) zucchini(2) , yellow squash(2), one new potato, one lb. of tomato basil flavored turkey bulk sausage, about six eggs, assorted spices, and sauted this in a cast iron skillet. It was scrumptious.

    I also like your idea about making soup starter. We are going to try it. We make our own chicken or turkey broth. It should work very well next time we make soup.

    Like

Leave a Reply

