Green Bean Salad

By P.C. Zick @PCZick

The crisper is filling faster than we can eat the vegetables, but we don’t have quite enough yet to start preserving, although I think I’ll start grating  and freezing zucchini in two-cup portions to use in recipes for bread later today. We’re getting ready to go out on the boat this afternoon so I wanted to make a picnic lunch. We picked about two cups of green beans this morning, so I decided to make an old recipe I originally found in my Moosewood cookbook – I still use two of these, and they are falling apart! But several of the recipes I’ve made into my own over the years, such as this one. I let the old yellowing pages of the paperback cookbooks rest. My portions are not exact, and you can use any combination. I tried to use enough of the other stuff to fit with the amount of green beans, but it’s still a little light today on green beans. No matter – it will be delicious for a hot afternoon on the water. The stelvio cheese (a northern Italian creamy cheese – a cousin to Swiss) I purchased at one of my favorite stores in the Strip District of Pittsburgh. I love the Pennsylvania Macaroni Company and their knowledgeable staff. I’ll write about the Strip one of these days, but for today let me get back on task!

Pat’s Variation on a marinated green bean salad

  • Green beans, steamed for about 7 minutes (today I used about two cups)
  • 1/2 can black olives
  • 1/2 can garbanzo beans
  • 1/4 lb. Stelvio cheese, cut into small chunks
  • onion, chopped (use amount to your taste – I used two small onions from the garden)
  • fresh dill, parsley (use whatever you want – I almost used basil but decided on dill)
  • 1 red pepper, chopped (you can use green or banana peppers too)

Mix together all the vegetables and add salt and pepper to taste. I also added dried dill and dried tarragon. Again, the herbs are your choice. I used about a tablespoon of basalmic vinegar and enough to olive oil to make it glisten – probably twice as much as the vinegar. It’s chilling in the refrigerator right now. This is even better the next day, if you can wait.

Enjoy. And let me know if you have any suggestions. This salad can be made any which way by substituting ingredients to taste. As I’m writing this, I’ve decided to add chopped zucchini to help make up for having less green beans. This time of year, it’s all good!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Green Bean Salad

Leave a Reply

