Update on the Ducks

Today when I went for the mail, I noticed the female mallard still sitting on her nest, but a pit bull came into the yard (not sure from where) and disturbed the nesting mother. She came out of the nest and began her quacking and marching around the nest area. She seemed to have it under control so I went to the mailbox. That’s when the dog starting barking and the duck starting flying and off they went. For the rest of the day, the mother never returned to the nest.

When my husband came home from work, I told him about my exciting day here in Raccoon Township (there was also an incident with a rabbit, but I’ll save that for another post). I know he wanted to sit on the patio and drink our newly uncapped Belgian Ale after a hard day’s work, but he humored me and walked to the front yard to check on our little family. The mother still hadn’t returned but the eggs remained.

“Wait, there’s something happening in there,” my husband said as I turned to walk back to the patio. “One of them is hatching.”

Sure enough. I took a few pictures as one emerged and a second one began its entry into the rural world of western Pennsylvania. Then we decided it was time to leave them alone so their mother could return. We turned around and there she was patrolling the yard, looking for pit bull.

My husband and I, married only for two years, are past child-bearing and -rearing days.

“You always wanted to have a child together, now we’ll have seven,” I said as we walked back to our comfortable chairs overlooking the garden.

“That’s it?” my husband. “That was pretty easy.”

I smiled and took a sip of my ale. Easiest labor I ever had.

4 thoughts on “Update on the Ducks

  1. Patricia the babies are adorable and you’ll have so much fun raising them. I will warn you though they need to be taken to water and if it’s a pond make sure there are no snapping turtles in it. They’ll gobble them up one by one. I’ve raised several of them and the last time I had to keep them away from the pond and bought them a child’s wading pool. My video camera got lots of action that summer and we still watch them. They left us that fall for greener pastures but have been coming back to raise their young each spring.

    Like

    • These come from the farm in front of us and there is no water around here. We’ve thought about rounding up as many as we can and taking them to the local river. I think the farm let “pets” get out of hand and now there’s a gaggle (or can I only use that about geese?)

      Like

Leave a Reply

