Early June and the Garden is Growing

The garden is growing at a rapid pace. We only have four more tomato plants to put in the ground and then it’s time to sit back and wait for the bounty. We have frozen 40 bags of spinach, and I still have two bags in the refrigerator. Last night I steamed some to go with fish and rice, and it didn’t even make a dent in one of the bags. I’m going to take one of the bags to a friend this morning because I’m not sure we can eat it fast enough. Spinach will keep in the refrigerator for several days if you put it away dry. We don’t wash the leaves until we’re ready to eat them.

Last night we also ate our first cucumbers. They were about 3-inches longer than this one still growing. The two we picked were crisp and juicy at the same time. I can’t wait to make pickles this year. Last year we didn’t have enough to do anything so I missed both the dill and chips I put up.

Our first raspberry! Can’t wait to taste these red delights fresh from the garden, but I’ll have to wait a couple of weeks (maybe sooner).

Onions are popping up out of the ground. As soon as I finish using up the store-bought varieties, I’ll be heading to the garden and using them as I need them. They store very nicely in our basement, too. And the onions will be wonderful in all the sauces I make with our tomatoes and peppers. Speaking of tomatoes. . .they are looking green and healthy and developing blossoms. So is the zucchini which should be overflowing in the garden any minute. I have a great zucchini relish recipe we’ve made two years in a row. I just opened the last jar of it this week. Our favorite way to use it (besides in tuna and potato salad) is to put it on fish before baking. I’ll share the recipe when I start making it.

And the flowers – my husband started all of these from seed.Sunflower – ready to burstthe first dahlia bloomAnd the front beds – marigolds and cosmos from seed

It’s a great time of year for sure. And the best time to take a breather before the work starts up again. Last year we had 23 tomato plants, and it was a bit much keeping up with the produce. This year I’ve asked my husband to cut back, so he’s only put in 18! We’ll still be rolling in the red come August.

How’s your garden growing?

Leave a Reply

