Five Ways to Go Greener

By P.C. Zick@PCZick

The Sierra Club  offers five simple ways to make a difference in your lifestyle. I’m posting them along with a few of my own. It’s always good to be reminded that we can make easy changes in our ongoing efforts to live greener.

  1. Keep your vehicles tuned up – A well-tuned car burns less gasoline. Change your oil every 3,000 to 4,000 miles and when the air filter is dirty, spend the money to ,change it! It will make a difference. The U.S. Department of Energy says you can improve a car’s gas mileage by an average of 4 percent.
  2. Keep the tires properly inflated – US DOE claims you can improve gas mileage by 3.3 percent with properly inflated tires (appropriate tire pressure for your vehicle can be found in owner’s manual or on a sticker on the driver’s side door jamb). Besides, keeping those tires at the right level will make them last longer, which is good for the pocketbook and for the landfill.
  3. Use “air-dry” on your dishwasher – What a waste of energy to use the heat-dry option when you wash dishes. Depending on your dishwasher, you use 15 to 50 percent less energy by not using heat to dry dishes. Towels work just fine!
  4. Low flow faucets and aerators – This might be a difficult one for most of us accustomed to as much water pressure as we can stand. However, the Sierra Club says  if every U.S. household installed just one, it would save more than 60 billion gallons of water annually. That’s a lot of water not going under the bridge.
  5. Lessen your driving time – Consider biking, walking, and carpooling whenever you can. If public transportation is available, use it. I live in a rural area, eight miles from the nearest store. I keep lists of what I need, so when I go out during the day, I’m going for more than one thing. If I discover I’m missing a crucial ingredient for a recipe, I change plans or I improvise. No impulse drives to the store for me!
  6. Use fewer paper products – I buy cheap dish towels and washcloths and reuse, reuse, reuse. They don’t take up much space in the washing machine when I’m doing towels. We also use cloth napkins at every meal, but we keep track of who uses what and reuse them for several meals before washing. Unless it’s a picnic away from the house, we don’t use paper plates or cups either. I buy very few paper products.

What things can you add to this list?

4 thoughts on “Five Ways to Go Greener

    • Thank you for mentioning that! And you’ve done a fantastic job of that at your place. I have a dear friend who used to always say lawn needs to become the next “four letter” word.

      Like

Leave a Reply

